Skip to content

Mathew McCubbins Memorial Conference

Mathew McCubbins Memorial Conference

University of California, San Diego

June 24 - 25, 2022

Parking & Directions | UCSD Wayfinding Map

Friday June 24, 2022

Hojel Auditorium

12:45 pm - 1:00 pm: Introductions

1:00 pm - 2:00 pm  Panel 1: Chair Tim Groeling, UCLA

Craig Burnett (Hofstra University) and Vlad Kogan (Ohio State University), “‘Democratic Dilemma’ When Perception of Knowledge and Interests is Endogenous.”

Discussant: Tim Groeling

Cheryl Boudreau (UC Davis), “Ballot Box Representation: Spatial Voting and the Effects of Information in Direct Democracy Elections

Discussant: Elisabeth Gerber, University of Michigan

2:10 pm - 3:10 pm Panel 2: Chair Marisa Abrajano, UC San Diego

Ellen Seljan (Lewis & Clark), “The Partisan Costs of Automatic Voter Registration

            Discussant: Marisa Abrajano, UC San Diego

Sebastian Saiegh (UC San Diego), “Partisan Polarization and Political Risk

Discussant: Gary Jacobson, UC San Diego

3:20pm - 4:20pm Panel 3: Chair Rod Kiewiet, Caltech

Darin DeWitt (CSU Long Beach), Tom Schwartz (UCLA), Congress, Constituents, and Compromise in Antebellum America”  

Discussant: Rod Kiewiet, Caltech     

Rod Kiewiet (Caltech), “The Promotion of Public Education in the New Republic: The First Great Devolution

Discussant: Thad Kousser, UC San Diego

4:30pm - 5:30pm Panel 4: Chair Mackenzie (Mac) Lockhart, UC San Deigo

John Aldrich (Duke), Gary Cox (Stanford), Mathew McCubbins (Duke), and David Rohde,(Duke) “The Politics of Lineland

Discussant: Mackenzie (Mac) Lockhart, UC San Deigo

Patrick Ramjug (Duke), “Cross-Pressure in the U.S. House of Representatives: A Comprehensive Examination of the Modern Motion to Recommit

Discussant: Nate Monroe, UC Merced

Dinner, 5:30 pm - 7:00 pm - Canceled

Saturday June 25, 2022

Great Hall

8:50 am - 9:50 am Panel 5 Chair: John Aldrich, Duke

Gary Cox (Stanford), “Comparing “responsible party government” in the US and the UK

Discussant: John Aldrich, Duke

Eric Magar (Mexico Autonomous Institute of Technology), “Slippage among the Experts? Agency Costs in Partisan Election Regulation

Discussant: Sebastian Saiegh, UC San Diego

9:55 am - 10:55 am Panel 6 Chair: John Ferejohn, NYU

Roger Noll (Stanford), Dan Rodriguez (Northwestern Law School), and Barry Weingast (Stanford), "Statutory Interpretation, Pragmatism, and Expertise"

Discussant: John Ferejohn, NYU

Bernard Black (Northwestern), Parth Lalkiya, and Josh Lerner (University of Chicago), “The Trouble with Coarsened Exact Matching

Discussant: Jonathan Katz, Caltech

11:05 am - 12:05 pm Panel 7 Chair: Roger Noll, Stanford

Austin Bussing (UNC Chapel Hill), Josh Lerner, (University of Chicago), and Gregory Spell (Duke), Using Deep and Active Learning Classiers to Identify Congressional Delegation to Administrative Agencies

Discussant: Roger Noll, Stanford

Colin McCubbins (Google), “Computational Environments as Administrative Procedures as Instruments of Political Control”    

Discussant: Josh Lerner, University of Chicago

12:10pm - 1:10pm Panel 8 Chair: Ziwen (Gary) Zu, UC San Diego

Shitong Qiao (Duke), “Workload, Legal Doctrines, and Judicial Protection of Property Rights: Administrative Litigation of Expropriation Disputes in China

Discussant: Ziwen (Gary) Zu, UC San Diego

Ana María Montoya (Duke), “The Politics of Compliance with Judicial Decisions  Protecting Property Rights in Colombia (2011-2021)”

Discussant: Dan Rodriguez, Northwestern

Lunch, 1:10 pm - 2:10 pm - Great Hall


2:10 pm - 3:00pm Roundtable with Mat’s colleagues and students

Nate Monroe, Skip Lupia, Gary Cox , Cheryl Boudreau, Ellen Seljan

Celebration of Life - Great Hall

3:10 pm - 5:00 pm. A celebration of Mat’s life, open to the public, in which Mat’s many friends, colleagues, and students are welcome to share their memories and reminiscences of Mat.

More about Mat

Reception, 5:00 pm - 7:00 pm - Great Hall

A special thanks to the sponsors of this conference, including UC San Diego Political Science, Center for Analytic Political Engagement (CAPE) at UC Merced, Duke Law School, Duke Political Science Department.